Home Gallery Resources The Team Rules chat Login Register
Pages:  1 2 [3] 4 5
Author Topic: Guide to Stage Builder Block Based Stages  (Read 6259 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Mewtwo2000
The Stage Master
Special Access
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3331


Making stages since 2010

  • Awards Former PMDT King for a Day Ceiling Cat Featured Diamond in the Rough

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #30 on: February 02, 2011, 05:32:34 PM »


    Getting them from other places, like the stage builder files.

    By the way, textures don't need to be squared. 1024x1024 is possible, but 1024x512 is possible too. Just use those numbers... 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512...

    Logged

    FC: 1247-2259-6207
    Visit my stage thread here


    Stage light and fog tutorial
    Stage shadows tutorial

    (specter)
    Holy Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1039


  • Awards KCMM Veteran Heart Container Active Contributor

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #31 on: February 02, 2011, 05:46:41 PM »


    Getting them from other places, like the stage builder files.

    And you just texture them then? If so, the 3D backgrounds on 3D stages I've seen all look so pro.
    Logged


    Chuckdurnham
    Extreme Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 335


    Anime Scrublord420


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #32 on: February 02, 2011, 05:57:22 PM »


    So how do you get 3D floors, backgrounds, skies, etc. in there?
    import them from other stages, or use 404s stage builder stuff.
    Heres what I got so far from using his stuff and an import from the yoshis island stage:


    You just gotta get creative with the items provided. You can put them over each other and stuff to make more complex shapes. But if your trying to make really complicated things then idk... alot of other stuff is imported from other games, trophies taken from the game and resized, stuff like that.
    Take a look at Kariko village:


    Most of the buildings are simple squares with triangles on top of them. I bet it would be somewhat easy to remake with stage builder items and an import of the windmill from pokemon stadium.



    And thanks for the info mewtwo!


    « Last Edit: February 02, 2011, 06:01:51 PM by Stuff3 » Logged


    I make stages and music! GO check em out!

    (specter)
    Holy Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1039


  • Awards KCMM Veteran Heart Container Active Contributor

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #33 on: February 02, 2011, 06:11:03 PM »


    Hmmm...yeah, I don't think I could ever move onto 3D stages then lol. It seems like too much work and I'm really lazy. Also if I need to use GIMP to make the textures then you can forget it because I can't use GIMP for my life -- I don't know how to use it that well.
    Logged


    xion
    Mega Kitten
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 179


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #34 on: February 02, 2011, 07:04:20 PM »


    I go to import what do I import?
    Logged

    We nobodys can never hope to be somebodies.

    xion
    Mega Kitten
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 179


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #35 on: February 02, 2011, 08:17:04 PM »


    ummmm I right clicked the modeldata101 and put import but idk what to import
    Logged

    We nobodys can never hope to be somebodies.

    ForOhFor Error
    Holy Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1472


    DOG is your destiny

  • Awards Fiery Topic Pin Collector Starstormer Famous Hacker KCMM Veteran

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #36 on: February 02, 2011, 08:34:00 PM »


    ummmm I right clicked the modeldata101 and put import but idk what to import
    >.>
    Import a model, select an MDL0 file....
    Logged


    FC: 2191-7379-6272

    Mewtwo2000
    The Stage Master
    Special Access
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 3331


    Making stages since 2010

  • Awards Former PMDT King for a Day Ceiling Cat Featured Diamond in the Rough

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #37 on: February 03, 2011, 02:01:42 AM »


    Kakariko is mine... All mine...  I see what you did there ...

    It may be the next stage I make when the next stage to the next stage I'm doing is made xD
    Logged

    FC: 1247-2259-6207
    Visit my stage thread here


    Stage light and fog tutorial
    Stage shadows tutorial

    ForOhFor Error
    Holy Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1472


    DOG is your destiny

  • Awards Fiery Topic Pin Collector Starstormer Famous Hacker KCMM Veteran

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #38 on: February 03, 2011, 01:18:59 PM »


    Kay, Mewtwo.
    Logged


    FC: 2191-7379-6272

    Chuckdurnham
    Extreme Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 335


    Anime Scrublord420


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #39 on: February 05, 2011, 03:38:53 AM »


    Ok so someone mentioned earlier in the thread that you need to have animation files already in the stage in order to make animations? If so does that mean since 404s stage pac is based over final destination can I have up to 3 animations in the stage?
    Logged


    I make stages and music! GO check em out!

    ForOhFor Error
    Holy Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1472


    DOG is your destiny

  • Awards Fiery Topic Pin Collector Starstormer Famous Hacker KCMM Veteran

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #40 on: February 05, 2011, 11:28:27 AM »


    Ok so someone mentioned earlier in the thread that you need to have animation files already in the stage in order to make animations?

    That's for animations that don't actually move the bones.... like CLR0 or VIS0, but not CHR0s, which are the animations that move the bones. You can make those through brawlbox.
    If so does that mean since 404s stage pac is based over final destination can I have up to 3 animations in the stage?
    This part is true, but only because each modeldata only uses the first animation in it's animation section.
    Logged


    FC: 2191-7379-6272

    Chuckdurnham
    Extreme Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 335


    Anime Scrublord420


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #41 on: February 05, 2011, 11:27:52 PM »


    ok so im trying to have 4 things move in my stage. So that means only 3 will move huh?
    Logged


    I make stages and music! GO check em out!

    ForOhFor Error
    Holy Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1472


    DOG is your destiny

  • Awards Fiery Topic Pin Collector Starstormer Famous Hacker KCMM Veteran

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #42 on: February 07, 2011, 07:28:09 PM »


    No. Each animation can move more than one thing at once >.>
    Logged


    FC: 2191-7379-6272

    Chuckdurnham
    Extreme Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 335


    Anime Scrublord420


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #43 on: February 09, 2011, 10:05:56 AM »


    Oh Im not talking about all at once. Im saying there is a limit to how many animations you can have overall in the stage itself. Im only trying to animate one thing, but it has like 40 sprites I need to use. It will only let 3 sprites become animated. The rest simply do not move after that.
    The way ive got it is that Ive got 39 sprites floating 400 feet in the air, out of camera while 1 sprite is in the players view. Then I send that sprite up with the other ones, and then send another sprite down instantly the next frame. Thus making it look like an animation.

    Idk if I just screwed up something or what, but trying to get more then 3 things moving in your thing does not work for me.
    Logged


    I make stages and music! GO check em out!

    Chuckdurnham
    Extreme Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 335


    Anime Scrublord420


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #44 on: February 09, 2011, 10:21:20 AM »


    Er... scratch that. I just got 5 things to move....
    I have no idea what i did this time that made it work...
    Logged


    I make stages and music! GO check em out!

    Pages:  1 2 [3] 4 5
    Print
    Jump to: