Home Gallery Resources The Team Rules chat Login Register
Pages:  1 [2] 3 4
Author Topic: Adding Wind Waker Cell-Shading to your Import.  (Read 1835 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Xiggah
Supreme Kitten
********
Offline Offline

Posts: 648

  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Heart Container

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #15 on: January 29, 2012, 04:31:50 PM »


    I mean the cell-shading works fine
    Logged


    Spex130
    Holy Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1960


    So very Spexcellent.

  • Awards Fiery Topic Hyperactive Contributor Renowned Hacker Featured Favorite'd

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #16 on: January 29, 2012, 04:46:27 PM »


    Oh! Right, right!

    What was that about the pictures, though?
    Logged


    Xiggah
    Supreme Kitten
    ********
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 648

  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Heart Container

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #17 on: January 29, 2012, 04:52:15 PM »


    I was saying I could upload pictures of examples if you wanted some
    Logged


    Spex130
    Holy Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1960


    So very Spexcellent.

  • Awards Fiery Topic Hyperactive Contributor Renowned Hacker Featured Favorite'd

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #18 on: January 29, 2012, 04:57:29 PM »


    Oh! Sure! That would be wonderful!

    Just tell me where they should go!
    Logged


    Xiggah
    Supreme Kitten
    ********
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 648

  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Heart Container

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #19 on: January 29, 2012, 05:38:14 PM »


    Anywhere you want, I suppose. Although I should probably render the shading on another character, my custom models don't have proper normals for showing off this effect...
    Logged


    Don Jon Bravo
    Heroic Kitten
    **
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 2846


  • Awards Boo! Famous Hacker Fiery Topic Heart Container Favorite'd

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #20 on: February 18, 2012, 01:17:33 AM »


    nice. what about cell-shading with outlines??


    Like this:http://myfeldin.com/programming/cellshading.php

    Maybe it can be programmed in brawlbox later
    « Last Edit: February 18, 2012, 01:21:37 AM by mr.mugenwii » Logged


    Xiggah
    Supreme Kitten
    ********
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 648

  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Heart Container

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #21 on: February 18, 2012, 02:41:29 AM »


    I've rendered my models with outlines, it's as simple as duplicating the model, enlarging it, and turning on cullface inside. And working the cell shading works with it too, although I reccomend having a separate shader so the outline isn't cell-shaded as well.
    Logged


    Spex130
    Holy Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1960


    So very Spexcellent.

  • Awards Fiery Topic Hyperactive Contributor Renowned Hacker Featured Favorite'd

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #22 on: February 18, 2012, 09:14:59 AM »


    I've rendered my models with outlines, it's as simple as duplicating the model, enlarging it, and turning on cullface inside. And working the cell shading works with it too, although I reccomend having a separate shader so the outline isn't cell-shaded as well.

    Xiggah's right. It's that simple.

    Honestly though, I don't think anything more than Auto-Metal should be added. If EVERYTHING is cell-shaded because it's that easy, the effect loses it's prominence because it doesn't take any work to add it.
    Logged


    Don Jon Bravo
    Heroic Kitten
    **
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 2846


  • Awards Boo! Famous Hacker Fiery Topic Heart Container Favorite'd

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #23 on: February 18, 2012, 07:29:30 PM »


    I've rendered my models with outlines, it's as simple as duplicating the model, enlarging it, and turning on cullface inside. And working the cell shading works with it too, although I reccomend having a separate shader so the outline isn't cell-shaded as well.
    im lost here...
    i mean that duplicate part. do you mean clone in 3ds max?
    Logged


    Xiggah
    Supreme Kitten
    ********
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 648

  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Heart Container

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #24 on: February 18, 2012, 10:45:51 PM »


    im lost here...
    i mean that duplicate part. do you mean clone in 3ds max?

    Yes, we mean in 3DS Max. Although TECHNICALLY speaking, you could be able to export the eye polygons and reimport them as a new polygon and move them in there. But that doesn't feel as well-done as doing it by hand in a modeling program.
    Logged


    Naruto200Man
    Badace Kitten
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 5100

    Guy: Go fourth and Brawl! Lee: Yes Guy Sensei!

  • Awards Heart Container Dedicated Hacker KCMM Veteran Hey! Listen! Helping Hand

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #25 on: February 23, 2012, 09:08:00 AM »


    On the outline-clone thing, how much bigger should I make the clone? Could I just copy/paste the rig from the original? seeing as its the same thing other than it being bigger?

    As for the cell shading, could I use the shaders from an actual Wind Waker model, I kind of want to use that look, since it might be a higher quality shader than the trophy. Or probably the cell shading from CON3 since Lee is actually from that game.

    And if possible...could you make a tutorial on making a proper shadow model for imports? You know, for imports that don't come with shadow models? (I mean brawl style shadows)
    Logged


    Spex130
    Holy Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1960


    So very Spexcellent.

  • Awards Fiery Topic Hyperactive Contributor Renowned Hacker Featured Favorite'd

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #26 on: February 23, 2012, 10:11:03 AM »


    1)
    How big it should be is a matter of preference.  Since it's a clone, you won't really need to edit the Skin Modifier all that much. Just a few tweaks here and there to make sure the outer cell doesn't clip with the inner. (And on that note, it's a bit easier to make an outer Cell AFTER you've rigged it.)

    2)
    Odds are, you won't be able to use a shader from the ACTUAL Wind Waker game. Diffferent game, different model format. If you really want it to look exact, you can edit the Cell Gradient Texture to make it as you please.

    For Rosy the Rascal V2 I edited the Cell Gradient Texture so that it would be more Wind Waker like, as opposed to this Diglett I did which uses the original Cell Gradient Texture and has a bit of a softer side to it.





    3)
    I've never done that before. I could try after I've tested a bit, but for now go ask Mewtwo2ooo, who made a custom shadow for his Mewtwo 64 import.
    Logged


    Don Jon Bravo
    Heroic Kitten
    **
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 2846


  • Awards Boo! Famous Hacker Fiery Topic Heart Container Favorite'd

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #27 on: February 23, 2012, 05:24:01 PM »


    well hopefully the double polygon deal with outlines will not mess with the model(size-wise)
    im speaking too soon and needs to experiment.lol
    Logged


    Lasimo
    Intermediate Kitten
    **
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 14


    Echidona, that's what I'm representin'!


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #28 on: March 20, 2012, 06:13:20 PM »


    I don't see XF Commands, just XF TexGen Flags.
    Logged


    BLEEAH BOOGITY BOOGITY

    BlackJax96
    Brawl Mod God
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4612


    JUST DO IT

  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Sniper King for a Day Featured Star Hacker

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #29 on: March 20, 2012, 06:13:40 PM »


    I don't see XF Commands, just XF TexGen Flags.

    Same thing
    Logged

    I'm making a game engine and video games literally from scratch over at https://theradevgames.com


    Pages:  1 [2] 3 4
    Print
    Jump to: