Home Gallery Resources The Team Rules chat Login Register
Pages:  1 ... 20 21 22 [23] 24 25
Author Topic: DAE Model Importing for Dummies  (Read 33816 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
SemiPsycho
Extreme Kitten
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 358


Personal Text:

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #330 on: May 04, 2013, 03:43:18 PM »


    For some reason when I try to add bones in the skin modifier there is nothing in the text box to select. Here's a screenshot:
    Logged



    BlueBrain
    God Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 8943


  • Awards Infinite Smash Team Super Saiyan Topic >9000 Heart Container

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #331 on: May 05, 2013, 05:41:17 AM »


    you have added the skin modifier to the bones as well, select only the model
    Logged

    SemiPsycho
    Extreme Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 358


    Personal Text:

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #332 on: May 05, 2013, 12:15:06 PM »


    Thanks! I have another question. I messed up with the key frames and  couldn't undo my bone rotations. If I delete all of the bones, and import (since I saved it as a .max file before importing the model I want to put in the game) the skeleton, will that work? Or do I have to start all over? Also, will the movement of the polygons affect anything if I can't undo the rotation and manually move them back into place?
    « Last Edit: May 05, 2013, 06:40:48 PM by SemiPsycho » Logged



    TheBlueBlur
    Mega Kitten
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 145


    Pm me if you want to add me in Pokemon X/Y

  • Awards Dedicated Hacker

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #333 on: May 21, 2013, 11:19:58 AM »


    Installing 3DS Max 2011 THAT WOULD TAKE A LOOONG TIME TO INSTALL
    Logged


    BlackJax96
    Brawl Mod God
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4612


  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Sniper King for a Day Featured

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #334 on: May 24, 2013, 12:44:54 PM »


    I upgraded to 3ds Max 2014 yesterday and can confirm that it works right off the bat with Brawlbox.

    If you're gonna download any version, download 2014.
    Logged

    I'm making a game engine and video games literally from scratch over at https://theradevgames.com


    DoctorFlux(Mariodk)
    Never Gonna Give You Up
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 9388


  • Awards Infinite Smash Team Heart Container KCMM 2012 Awards Winner >9000

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #335 on: May 24, 2013, 01:24:22 PM »


    I upgraded to 3ds Max 2014 yesterday and can confirm that it works right off the bat with Brawlbox.

    If you're gonna download any version, download 2014.
    so any good changes on 2014 from 2013 for SSBB model importing?
    Logged

    I Dont Take Requests & Dont Do Brawl Mods anymore Maybe Sm4sh modz later

    526beastmode526
    Intermediate Kitten
    **
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 13


  • Awards Shadow the Pinhog

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #336 on: May 24, 2013, 03:18:52 PM »


    I can't save my FitPeach00.pac to a .dae when I export it. It only lets me save as a .mdl0
    How do I fix this?
    Logged

    BlackJax96
    Brawl Mod God
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4612


  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Sniper King for a Day Featured

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #337 on: May 24, 2013, 04:57:45 PM »


    so any good changes on 2014 from 2013 for SSBB model importing?

    I dunno, everything I use on a regular basis is pretty much the same.

    I can't save my FitPeach00.pac to a .dae when I export it. It only lets me save as a .mdl0
    How do I fix this?

    Use your brain to find an answer to your problem:



    Protip: This works for other problems too!
    Now go home and be a problem-solving man!
    Logged

    I'm making a game engine and video games literally from scratch over at https://theradevgames.com


    SemiPsycho
    Extreme Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 358


    Personal Text:

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #338 on: June 03, 2013, 03:26:11 PM »


    I can't save my FitPeach00.pac to a .dae when I export it. It only lets me save as a .mdl0
    How do I fix this?


    Only the newest Brawl Box can allow you to export as a .dae. Here's a link to Brawl Box v0.67b by BlackJax96:

    http://forums.kc-mm.com/Gallery/BrawlView.php?Number=27797
    Logged



    hitmaker
    Newbie Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #339 on: June 14, 2013, 12:22:09 AM »


    Not sure what I am doing wrong, after going through the tutorial here I can get the model to export and load into brawl, but ingame the model's textures are messed up, even though in brawl box they look fine:


    Ive gone through the tutorial several times with various versions of the DAE plugin and even max itself, but the result is this same. Is there something Im missing?

    Dont mind the protruding vertice there, that was intentional

    Edit: I Sorted it, it was an issue with a material that needed manual editing. Furthermore, I managed to successfully import a different since posting this question! Thanks for the tutorial!



    Now just have to figure out why its causing the game to run so slow despite the low poly count...
    « Last Edit: June 14, 2013, 01:34:04 PM by hitmaker » Logged

    kiro
    Mega Kitten
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 147


    Mah boi! Blood is what true vampires strive for!

  • Awards Featured Favorite'd Dedicated Hacker

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #340 on: June 28, 2013, 07:24:46 PM »


    Ok, i LOVE this tutorial. However, i'm having two problems, when i load the new character in brawl, the model is faceted instead of smooth, and a texture that has transparencies either display as a different texture in-game (but is normal in brawlbox) or ignores transparencies in-game (but is normal in brawlbox) depending on which texture format i use.
    Logged


    BlackJax96
    Brawl Mod God
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4612


  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Sniper King for a Day Featured

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #341 on: June 28, 2013, 07:31:19 PM »


    http://forums.kc-mm.com/index.php?topic=38135.0

    And for the smoothing, you have to smooth the model in 3ds Max.
    First, try adding a smooth modifier to the model and click box 1. If the model isn't smoothed after that, remove that modifier and add a vertex weld modifier. Set the value to 0.01.
    If it's not smooth after that, then there's a problem.

    And if you have rigging on the model, cut out the skin modifier, do all that above, collapse the stack and then paste it back on.
    Logged

    I'm making a game engine and video games literally from scratch over at https://theradevgames.com


    kiro
    Mega Kitten
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 147


    Mah boi! Blood is what true vampires strive for!

  • Awards Featured Favorite'd Dedicated Hacker

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #342 on: June 28, 2013, 11:28:25 PM »


    http://forums.kc-mm.com/index.php?topic=38135.0

    And for the smoothing, you have to smooth the model in 3ds Max.
    First, try adding a smooth modifier to the model and click box 1. If the model isn't smoothed after that, remove that modifier and add a vertex weld modifier. Set the value to 0.01.
    If it's not smooth after that, then there's a problem.

    And if you have rigging on the model, cut out the skin modifier, do all that above, collapse the stack and then paste it back on.


    Thanks a ton! I got the model looking great now, only thing now is the transparency is making anything from the same polygon invisible. Here's what i mean:
    « Last Edit: June 29, 2013, 01:03:20 AM by kiro » Logged


    ?uestion
    Extreme Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 362


    A rebirth

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #343 on: July 11, 2013, 05:03:21 PM »


    Hey you magicians and hacking wizards,
     Anyone wanna help a brother out with the part VI that's not in this tutorial?

    Thanks a ton,
    - pranavmeno
    Logged



    Check out my model import thread here
    Want a sig? Well, click here!

    kiro
    Mega Kitten
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 147


    Mah boi! Blood is what true vampires strive for!

  • Awards Featured Favorite'd Dedicated Hacker

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #344 on: July 11, 2013, 11:04:24 PM »


    what problem are you having?
    Logged


    Pages:  1 ... 20 21 22 [23] 24 25
    Print
    Jump to: