Home Gallery Resources The Team Rules chat Login Register
Pages:  1 [2] 3
Author Topic: How to use the Model Changer event  (Read 1220 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Albafika
Anti-Christ
Administrator
******
Offline Offline

Posts: 5879


  • Awards Epic Restorer Fiery Topic Star Hacker PC Core Gamer Heart Container

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #15 on: August 14, 2012, 11:53:48 AM »


    Good job, BJ! Cheesy
    Logged


    bluesonic1
    Newbie Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #16 on: September 03, 2012, 08:36:38 PM »


    The event has two parameters:
    - Switch Index
    - Bone Group Index

    I believe this is self explanatory:
    Switch index is the index of the switch to select groups from.
    Bone Group index is the index of the group of bones that you want visible.

    Using the model changer will make only that group of bones visible. All other bone groups will be turned off.

    I do not understand this part. How do I check the switch index and bone group index of the bones I want to make visible? Thanks in advance and sorry if this question sounds dumb.
    Logged

    BlackJax96
    Brawl Mod God
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4612


    JUST DO IT

  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Sniper King for a Day Featured Star Hacker

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #17 on: September 03, 2012, 09:10:37 PM »


    The index is the location of the node. They're named BoneGroup0, BoneGroup1, BoneGroup2 etc and BoneSwitch0, BoneSwitch1, BoneSwitch2, etc. Just use the number on the end of the name.
    Logged

    I'm making a game engine and video games literally from scratch over at https://theradevgames.com


    bluesonic1
    Newbie Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #18 on: September 04, 2012, 07:43:38 PM »


    Well, I'm not asking how to change the switch and group indexes, I want to know how to check those on a characters boneset so I can know what to input for those indexes when I'm editing the model changers. Sorry if this is bothering you.
    Logged

    BlackJax96
    Brawl Mod God
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4612


    JUST DO IT

  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Sniper King for a Day Featured Star Hacker

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #19 on: September 04, 2012, 08:50:05 PM »


    Well, I'm not asking how to change the switch and group indexes, I want to know how to check those on a characters boneset so I can know what to input for those indexes when I'm editing the model changers. Sorry if this is bothering you.

    You have to actually look in the model visibility node in the moveset file.

    Just open the moveset (out of the viewer), load the right model by right clicking the moveset node, then look in "Model Visibility" under "data". All the bone names will be listed in the bone groups.
    Logged

    I'm making a game engine and video games literally from scratch over at https://theradevgames.com


    frostymm
    Hyper Kitten
    ******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 204


    Like I ever know what I'm doing.

  • Awards Starstormer Dedicated Hacker Constructive

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #20 on: October 28, 2012, 05:48:54 PM »


    Obviously I'm doing something wrong, how do I make an object invisible? I made two bone groups and then deleted the bones I didn't want to show on one and then used the model changer event to activate the one with all the bones and then the one with only the bones I wanted. I've tried a few different things but none of them worked so how exactly to I disable the visibility of an object on the model in PSA?
    Logged

    My BrawlEx Cosmetic template for people who are lazy!
    http://forums.kc-mm.com/Gallery/BrawlView.php?Number=203448
    Supports up to 35 BrawlEx characters currently.

    BlackJax96
    Brawl Mod God
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4612


    JUST DO IT

  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Sniper King for a Day Featured Star Hacker

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #21 on: October 28, 2012, 05:59:32 PM »


    You link the object to a visibility bone. Then you add the visibility bone to a new group under one of the switches. Then when you enable a different group under that switch, the object linked to the bone you added in the other group will turn invisible.
    Logged

    I'm making a game engine and video games literally from scratch over at https://theradevgames.com


    frostymm
    Hyper Kitten
    ******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 204


    Like I ever know what I'm doing.

  • Awards Starstormer Dedicated Hacker Constructive

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #22 on: October 28, 2012, 06:26:53 PM »


    Okay now what if the object is something basic like a head that you need to show up all the time (topN visiblity) but you need it to turn invisible because you have a different shaped head that is supposed to take its place. (Doesn't necessarily cover the old head.)
    Logged

    My BrawlEx Cosmetic template for people who are lazy!
    http://forums.kc-mm.com/Gallery/BrawlView.php?Number=203448
    Supports up to 35 BrawlEx characters currently.

    BlackJax96
    Brawl Mod God
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4612


    JUST DO IT

  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Sniper King for a Day Featured Star Hacker

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #23 on: October 28, 2012, 06:29:27 PM »


    Use a different switch that holds groups of bones only for the head.
    Logged

    I'm making a game engine and video games literally from scratch over at https://theradevgames.com


    frostymm
    Hyper Kitten
    ******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 204


    Like I ever know what I'm doing.

  • Awards Starstormer Dedicated Hacker Constructive

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #24 on: October 28, 2012, 06:32:19 PM »


    Please explain
    Logged

    My BrawlEx Cosmetic template for people who are lazy!
    http://forums.kc-mm.com/Gallery/BrawlView.php?Number=203448
    Supports up to 35 BrawlEx characters currently.

    BlackJax96
    Brawl Mod God
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4612


    JUST DO IT

  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Sniper King for a Day Featured Star Hacker

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #25 on: October 28, 2012, 06:35:51 PM »


    Re-read the OP or I'll wind up writing it again to answer you.
    Logged

    I'm making a game engine and video games literally from scratch over at https://theradevgames.com


    Carnage
    God Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 7551


    (retired)

  • Awards Constructive Fiery Topic Heart Container Starstormer Pin Collector

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #26 on: October 28, 2012, 06:36:28 PM »


    Okay now what if the object is something basic like a head that you need to show up all the time (topN visiblity) but you need it to turn invisible because you have a different shaped head that is supposed to take its place. (Doesn't necessarily cover the old head.)
    do this supose a bonegroup has 2 switches the boneswicth 0 one is always the default that will show up unless the model changer is called then put the head that appears on the boneswitch 1 so whn mode changer x-1 is called anyhting on the bpneswicth 0 visivility will disapear and the thing on boneswicthc1 appears
    Logged


    frostymm
    Hyper Kitten
    ******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 204


    Like I ever know what I'm doing.

  • Awards Starstormer Dedicated Hacker Constructive

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #27 on: October 28, 2012, 06:57:49 PM »


    Okay well I think the reason I'm confused is because by changing the visibility bone for the normal head to not be TopN that made it not show up by default. And if I left it as TopN and used the model changer then everything besides the new head would dissappear. And now you're telling me that everying in boneswitch 0 is on by default but the default variable for boneswitch 0 is -1 (Which is everything maybe?) and the bone that I set the old head in is already in there in bonegroup0 and it's still not there by default XD.

    Also am I to assume that by bonegroup having 2 switches you actually mean bonegroupswitch having two bonegroups? Or are you reffering to the reference?
    « Last Edit: October 28, 2012, 07:00:06 PM by frostymm » Logged

    My BrawlEx Cosmetic template for people who are lazy!
    http://forums.kc-mm.com/Gallery/BrawlView.php?Number=203448
    Supports up to 35 BrawlEx characters currently.

    BlackJax96
    Brawl Mod God
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4612


    JUST DO IT

  • Awards Super Saiyan Topic Sniper King for a Day Featured Star Hacker

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #28 on: October 28, 2012, 07:05:56 PM »


    I guess they're not named very well.

    Switches operate independently. Only one group of bones can be on at once in each switch.

    You don't want TopN in any groups or the whole freaking model will disappear.

    You'll want each face object to be linked to a different bone. Say you have 5 faces.

    You should make a new switch, add 5 groups into it, and then add each separate bone into it's own group.

    When you switch to group 0, only the object linked to the bone in group 0 will show up.

    Each switch has a default group index too, so if the normal face object was linked to the bone in group 0, you want the default index to be 0.
    Logged

    I'm making a game engine and video games literally from scratch over at https://theradevgames.com


    frostymm
    Hyper Kitten
    ******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 204


    Like I ever know what I'm doing.

  • Awards Starstormer Dedicated Hacker Constructive

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #29 on: October 28, 2012, 09:14:06 PM »


    Okedoke, I got it to work with that information. Thanks a ton! The only snag I ran into was when I added a new bone group, it also added one on the other reference but the one it added caused the game to freeze on the loading screen. I had to go in and change the default value to -1.
    Logged

    My BrawlEx Cosmetic template for people who are lazy!
    http://forums.kc-mm.com/Gallery/BrawlView.php?Number=203448
    Supports up to 35 BrawlEx characters currently.

    Pages:  1 [2] 3
    Print
    Jump to: