Home Gallery Resources The Team Rules chat Login Register
Pages:  1 ... 571 572 573 [574] 575 576 577 ... 590
Author Topic: The Brawl Expansion Project  (Read 1317343 times)
0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.
secretchaos1
Extreme Kitten
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 374


Well, I don't want to leave this blank

  • Awards Renowned Hacker >9000 Featured Shadow the Pinhog

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8595 on: May 30, 2016, 06:29:14 PM »


    Okay, I'm using original Brawl, and anytime I try to modify the character select screen, it freezes and hums when I click on the versus (Brawl) button. Even when I do something as simple as make Mario the only selectable character. What am I doing wrong?
    Are you editing Roster.dat? Or using a code? CSS organizing codes are incompatible with BrawlEx, edit Roster.dat instead.
    Logged


    Daveybird
    Expert Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 79


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8596 on: May 31, 2016, 05:56:42 PM »


    Clone Tool link is down. Please put it back up.
    Logged

    KingJigglypuff
    Meme Machine
    Brawl Vault Staff
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 7192


  • Awards >9000 Hyperactive Contributor Heart Container Troubleshooter Helping Hand

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #8597 on: May 31, 2016, 06:28:41 PM »


    It was taken down because it doesn't support the current version of BrawlEx, if I recall correctly.
    Logged

    I don't take requests.

    My PSA Thread

    Daveybird
    Expert Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 79


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8598 on: May 31, 2016, 07:29:10 PM »


    Okay, I figured it out. The Knuckles I was using was either retooled for PM or used a different character as a base. I used one who was completely over Sonic and it worked. I can clone characters! Now I've just gotta get that SD Card or replacement Wii. Been testing on Dolphin. Slow as heck! I'll worry about cosmetics later, since they are so tedious and I want to get basic cloning down. I also put Mewtwo in Brawl. I tried PM Mewtwo, but he was incompatible, I had to do a pre-Project M Mewtwo designed for default Brawl.
    « Last Edit: June 01, 2016, 02:10:59 PM by Daveybird » Logged

    secretchaos1
    Extreme Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 374


    Well, I don't want to leave this blank

  • Awards Renowned Hacker >9000 Featured Shadow the Pinhog

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8599 on: June 01, 2016, 06:00:45 PM »


    @Daveybird
    If you check the vault there's a version of PM's Mewtwo that's modified to work properly with vBrawl.
    Also yes, the Clone Tool is obsolete and no longer compatible with the latest BrawlEx. Gotta stick to manual editing for now, though it's not too bad once you get the hang of it.
    Logged


    Ebola16
    Importer of Dreams
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4108


    Brawl R&D

  • Awards Famous Hacker Fiery Topic Pin Collector Heart Container Good Citizen

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8600 on: June 04, 2016, 10:12:21 PM »


    Going to try a different approach to the Captain Falcon Brawlex .rel final smash issue. It's time for Dolphin to crash in the proper place so we can figure out what on earth is going on. I filed this issue on Dolphin's Issue Tracker to hopefully get things moving: https://bugs.dolphin-emu.org/issues/9584

    Alternatively, if someone has a USB Gecko and wants to tell me what is going on in the real Wii when this crash happens, that's fine too!

    And a note to secretchaos1: I used your pack as a base to recreate this problem. You may want to include config.dat (location should be at the root of your SD card) in your 2GB download as it's missing.
    Logged

    Brawlex Advancements (Supplement to the Brawlex thread's original post)
    I use RSBE Brawlex v2.0.0.0 Extended, Win 10, and 3ds Max 2016 (3ds Max Guide). Refresh and see my imports!

    Ebola16
    Importer of Dreams
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4108


    Brawl R&D

  • Awards Famous Hacker Fiery Topic Pin Collector Heart Container Good Citizen

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8601 on: June 16, 2016, 03:22:11 AM »


    Also, FPC4.1 was just released and it can supposedly replace .brsar files so I have updated the final smash music glitch workaround:

    We finally have a workaround for the "Using the BX CSS Roster Expansion will prevent Final Smash music for Luigi, Peach, and Dedede from playing" glitch although it's not ideal.

    Final smash music is stored as seq instead of the normal strm type in smashbros_sound.brsar. Brawlex's CSS Roster Expansion allows other seq files to play properly (like the Starman music) but not final smash music. Diddy Kong made the enable SEQ hacking - SEQ music bypass hack which solves this problem. It is possible to change the seq references to a strm file in smashbros_sound.brsar with Brawlbox and a little hex editing. He also wrote a nice guide for making these kind of changes: http://smashboards.com/threads/how-to-change-the-item-jingles-in-brawl-not-that-this-community-gives-a.349060/

    Conveniently, Smash Custom Music already has the final smash brstms (although you now have the ability to chose whatever .brstm you want)!
    Dedede: http://www.smashcustommusic.com/24019
    Peach: http://www.smashcustommusic.com/24017
    Donkey Kong: http://www.smashcustommusic.com/24018
    Luigi: http://www.smashcustommusic.com/24016

    Some important things I want to emphasize:
    1. You'll need to replace your .iso's smashbros_sound.brsar with an edited one (preferred), use File Patch Code 4.1 or above (possibly unstable), or use Riivolution.
    2. Replacing the final smash brstm files with ones already in Brawl will use up some of your space for music.
    3. I had one PSA (Flame Orbitar Pit) play Donkey Kong's Final Smash music after making this edit so I changed the PSA to fix the inappropriate sound.

    See the SEQ music bypass hack information on the Brawl Vault download page for more benefits and drawbacks. You can manually edit the .brsar if you want to do things differently than Diddy Kong.


    Post Merge: June 16, 2016, 04:23:22 AM
    ...Actually FPC4.1 doesn't work in my setup currently. I've outlined the problem in the FPC4.1 thread and made a note of possible instability in the description.
    « Last Edit: June 16, 2016, 04:24:37 AM by Ebola16 » Logged

    Brawlex Advancements (Supplement to the Brawlex thread's original post)
    I use RSBE Brawlex v2.0.0.0 Extended, Win 10, and 3ds Max 2016 (3ds Max Guide). Refresh and see my imports!

    Tiberious
    Mega Kitten
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 127


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8602 on: June 16, 2016, 05:51:53 AM »


    Where is this File Patch Code 4.1? I'd like to try it out.
    Logged

    Ebola16
    Importer of Dreams
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4108


    Brawl R&D

  • Awards Famous Hacker Fiery Topic Pin Collector Heart Container Good Citizen

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8603 on: June 16, 2016, 05:54:14 AM »


    File Patch Code 4.1
    Logged

    Brawlex Advancements (Supplement to the Brawlex thread's original post)
    I use RSBE Brawlex v2.0.0.0 Extended, Win 10, and 3ds Max 2016 (3ds Max Guide). Refresh and see my imports!

    Tiberious
    Mega Kitten
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 127


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8604 on: June 16, 2016, 06:10:05 AM »


    Thanks. I'd tried a minor smashbros_sound.brstm edit, and when I didn't see any changes, I was wondering if I'd done something wrong, or if it was the code.

    Do you know if it's stable on hardware?
    Logged

    Ebola16
    Importer of Dreams
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4108


    Brawl R&D

  • Awards Famous Hacker Fiery Topic Pin Collector Heart Container Good Citizen

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8605 on: June 16, 2016, 06:13:27 AM »


    I haven't tested much further than this:
    Actually I just tested Brawl's FPC4.1 with Brawlex on Dolphin 4.0-9433. I have no smashbros_sound.brsar on my SD card but I did replace my smashbros_sound.brsar with an edited one on my .iso to redirect final smash SEQ entries to .brstrm files. The announcer is missing when a game mode is chosen and invalid reads pop up when a chosen character's name should be announced.
    Logged

    Brawlex Advancements (Supplement to the Brawlex thread's original post)
    I use RSBE Brawlex v2.0.0.0 Extended, Win 10, and 3ds Max 2016 (3ds Max Guide). Refresh and see my imports!

    Tiberious
    Mega Kitten
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 127


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8606 on: June 16, 2016, 06:49:26 AM »


    Oh. Well, I'm kinda having my own issues with testing a brstm edit. All I'm tring to do right now is add a new strm (Z12.brstm) and have the Z12/FKUOPA entry play it (for Bowser's victory fanfare).

    I can tell it's partially working, because winning with Bowser gives no fanfare at all, while winning with Luigi plays the standard Z01.brstm fanfare.

    However, the game just does not want to even try looking for Z12.brstm on the SD card when it's being told it should (calling an external file from brstm and having FPC checking for it on SD).

    I think the last thing I'm going to try is adding a 'dummy' (copy of 000.brstm) Z12.brstm to the image, and see if -that- works.
    Logged

    Ebola16
    Importer of Dreams
    Boss Kitten
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 4108


    Brawl R&D

  • Awards Famous Hacker Fiery Topic Pin Collector Heart Container Good Citizen

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8607 on: June 16, 2016, 08:03:25 AM »


    You could try looking at Dolphin logs and seeing what .brstm is actually being loaded.
    « Last Edit: October 17, 2017, 02:32:06 AM by Ebola16 » Logged

    Brawlex Advancements (Supplement to the Brawlex thread's original post)
    I use RSBE Brawlex v2.0.0.0 Extended, Win 10, and 3ds Max 2016 (3ds Max Guide). Refresh and see my imports!

    Tiberious
    Mega Kitten
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 127


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8608 on: June 16, 2016, 09:21:47 AM »


    I figured it out. It seems FPC 3.5.1 won't actually try to load a file off the SD card unless it already exists 'on the disc' itself. Once I rebuilt the ISO with the dummy Z12.brstm there, FPC read the 'real' file from SD.
    Logged

    Don Jon Bravo
    Heroic Kitten
    **
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 2846


  • Awards Boo! Famous Hacker Fiery Topic Heart Container Favorite'd

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8609 on: June 18, 2016, 07:50:06 AM »


    Do you think adding dummy sfx files somewhere in the iso will make brawl ex load them via sd card?
    Logged


    Pages:  1 ... 571 572 573 [574] 575 576 577 ... 590
    Print
    Jump to: