Home Gallery Resources The Team Rules chat Login Register
Pages:  [1] 2
Author Topic: Scout's Uploading Tips #1: Ingame Pictures  (Read 9671 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
ɴᴇᴢʜᴀ
Brawl Vault's Paladin
Brawl Vault Staff
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1197


Better read the rules, you wont see me if you do.

  • Awards Smash 3 Team Shinobi Power? Star Hacker >9000 Heart Container

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « on: July 06, 2014, 06:10:21 PM »


    So I decided to write a tutorial on how to export pictures with “bin2JPG”! Almost everyone uses this method for its 4-step simplicity.

    This progress works with geko and Riivo users for both USB and Disk methods of launching a modded brawl, however riivo takes another approach (read below).

    A fair warning, this doesn’t work for mac.
    Stuff you need:
    • Bin2JPG
    • Brawl (duh)
    • Sd card, any size

    Step 1:
    Download the Zip file and extract it to the folder. You'll have something like this:

    Now leave it be, turn on brawl.

    Step 2:
    Take the pictures you want to take in brawl (pause + z button), be sure to save the pictures on the SD card.

    Step 3:
    Remove the SD card from the wii, and plug it on the computer. The pictures are in .bin format, they will be located as followed:

    vBrawl: SD\private\wii\app\RSBE\al
    Project: SD\projectm\AL
    Riivo: Locate the “al” folder

    Here’s an example, I took 12 pictures, therefore 12 .bin files are found.  I’ll show 4 of them since the rest are stuff I’m working on:

    Copy them all and move to the next step.

    Step 4:
    After copying the .bin files, paste them all inside the extracted zip folder from step one. You have something like this:

    You’re almost done, now double click here and give permission so the program can launch, and you get a command prompt showing you the conversion …


    You’ll end up with this:


    All of your .bin files had been copied to .jpeg They will all be sized perfectly, not too big and not too small. Once you are done, delete all the .bin files paying close attention in not deleting any program. And done! Simple as that! You will not get some annoying reports anymore.


    FAQ:

    Riivolution problems:
    I don't know if this is just for me or not; I'm sure other people have the same problem:
    Problem: When trying to save a snapshot onto the SD card, it will act as if there is no SD plugged in, not letting you click on the "Save to SD" button.
    Fix: Save it the Wii, and then go into NORMAL Brawl(NOT hacked Brawl), and Move or Copy the files onto the SD from there.

    Are you using Riivolution? Because afaik, it doesn't happen when I used Gecko, but all the time with Riivo. That's bebause, iirc, Riivo disables the sd slot or something like that.
    I was just about to say that. Your SD card becomes one with the disc with Riivolution, so you can't use your SD card with Brawl when using Riivolution.


    SD can't be read:
    That only happens when your SD device is on lock.


    Dolphin is special:
    I use dolphin and the images come out as a scrambled mess.
    For dolphin just press f9 and it will automatically put a png screenshot in your /dolphin emulator/screenshots/"game id" folder.




    Scout's Uploading Tips #2: Broken Thumbnails
    Scout's Uploading Tips #3: Download Cards
    « Last Edit: July 30, 2016, 05:09:44 PM by Scout » Logged


    windhunter7
    BrawlVault Gatekeeper
    Angel Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 3130


    Finished Part 2 of the Model Porting Tutorial!

  • Awards Famous Hacker Heart Container Helping Hand >9000 Pin Collector

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #1 on: July 06, 2014, 07:40:14 PM »


    Take the pictures you want to take in brawl (pause + z button), be sure to save the pictures on the SD card.

    I don't know if this is just for me or not; I'm sure other people have the same problem:

    Problem: When trying to save a snapshot onto the SD card, it will act as if there is no SD plugged in, not letting you click on the "Save to SD" button.

    Fix: Save it the Wii, and then go into NORMAL Brawl(NOT hacked Brawl), and Move or Copy the files onto the SD from there.
    Logged


    ɴᴇᴢʜᴀ
    Brawl Vault's Paladin
    Brawl Vault Staff
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1197


    Better read the rules, you wont see me if you do.

  • Awards Smash 3 Team Shinobi Power? Star Hacker >9000 Heart Container

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #2 on: July 06, 2014, 09:35:09 PM »


    Thanks for the tip, I'll add it to the feed back section.
    Logged


    Demichi
    Intermediate Kitten
    **
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 14


    Necesitas algo? PM mí.


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #3 on: July 07, 2014, 07:12:28 AM »


    I don't know if this is just for me or not; I'm sure other people have the same problem: Problem: When trying to save a snapshot onto the SD card, it will act as if there is no SD plugged in, not letting you click on the "Save to SD" button. Fix: Save it the Wii, and then go into NORMAL Brawl(NOT hacked Brawl), and Move or Copy the files onto the SD from there.
    That only happens when your SD device is on lock.
    Logged

    windhunter7
    BrawlVault Gatekeeper
    Angel Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 3130


    Finished Part 2 of the Model Porting Tutorial!

  • Awards Famous Hacker Heart Container Helping Hand >9000 Pin Collector

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #4 on: July 07, 2014, 07:17:16 AM »


    That only happens when your SD device is on lock.

    No it doesn't, because mine isn't locked, as I can edit it just fine, but whenever I put it in the Wii, it does that bug; it has something to do with the files "Replacing" the originals, I think(How it makes the Wii think that the files are on the SD Card may null the SD card to the Wii)
    Logged


    Large Leader
    Brotherrrrrrrr
    Angel Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 3035


    Metal Gear

  • Awards Renowned Hacker Active Contributor Diamond in the Rough Super Saiyan Topic Heart Container

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #5 on: July 07, 2014, 10:43:47 AM »


    I don't know if this is just for me or not; I'm sure other people have the same problem:

    Problem: When trying to save a snapshot onto the SD card, it will act as if there is no SD plugged in, not letting you click on the "Save to SD" button.

    Fix: Save it the Wii, and then go into NORMAL Brawl(NOT hacked Brawl), and Move or Copy the files onto the SD from there.

    Are you using Riivolution? Because afaik, it doesn't happen when I used Gecko, but all the time with Riivo. That's bebause, iirc, Riivo disables the sd slot or something like that.
    Logged



    Quote from: Miacis
    In other words, LURK MORE.
    Quote from: LC-DDM
    In other news, birds fly, sun shines, fishes swim, and the sky is [censored]ing BLUE.
    Quote from: Miacis
    3. ... You seriously don't know who Clinton is?
    Quote from: Haseyo
    If only hacking Brawl paid bills.
    Quote from: Nanobuds
    O snap
    Quote from: DrPanda
    But you are in a Smash Bros. thread.
    You can't have an opinion here.

    Segtendo
    Cupped
    Special Access
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 13377


    Don't Deal with the Devil

  • Awards Starstormer PC Core Gamer 128-bit Core Gamer Super Saiyan Topic Ceiling Cat

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #6 on: July 07, 2014, 10:49:45 AM »


    I was just about to say that. Your SD card becomes one with the disc with Riivolution, so you can't use your SD card with Brawl when using Riivolution.
    Logged

    My Smash 4 mods | Obsessed w/: Splatoon 2
    Like the official Smash Custom Music Facebook page!

    3DS Friend Code: 2552-4940-9357 | Nintendo Network ID: Segtend0 | Switch FC: SW-2632-7270-6724

    windhunter7
    BrawlVault Gatekeeper
    Angel Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 3130


    Finished Part 2 of the Model Porting Tutorial!

  • Awards Famous Hacker Heart Container Helping Hand >9000 Pin Collector

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #7 on: July 07, 2014, 10:50:15 AM »


    Are you using Riivolution? Because afaik, it doesn't happen when I used Gecko, but all the time with Riivo. That's bebause, iirc, Riivo disables the sd slot or something like that.

    That makes sense. Although, Riivolution lets you to mod more than just Brawl, unlike Gecko, so both have their advantages/disadvantages(That, and when I used Gecko before I switched to Riivolution, it would occasionally freeze the Wii and do the white noise without any bugs or anything; I know this because when I tried Riivolution with the same mods on it, I haven't changed what's on it, other than just updating some of the textures, for like half a year, and still no buzz.) I think that's the only downside to Riivolution, but it's such an easy fix, as I explained above. Undecided
    Logged


    Fanincapse
    Mega Kitten
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 119


    I'm making the BEST Little Mac PSA


    View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #8 on: July 08, 2014, 05:00:13 AM »


    I don't know if this is just for me or not; I'm sure other people have the same problem:

    Problem: When trying to save a snapshot onto the SD card, it will act as if there is no SD plugged in, not letting you click on the "Save to SD" button.

    Fix: Save it the Wii, and then go into NORMAL Brawl(NOT hacked Brawl), and Move or Copy the files onto the SD from there.

    I have that problem. Thanks for the solution!
    Logged

    President of Fanincapse. Chillin' and making PSA of Smash 4.

    ✦Dylan✦
    Holocaust Mastermind
    Extreme Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 448


    Send Taranza/Sectonia art thanks.

  • Awards Tutorial Writer RAGE!!

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #9 on: July 12, 2014, 11:35:14 AM »


    I use dolphin and the images come out as a scrambled mess.
    Logged

    I don't visit often and my hacks are crap. The music loops are alright though I guess.

    Mansta8
    Lol Kitten
    *********
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 889


  • Awards Stack Smash Team Favorite'd Famous Hacker Ceiling Cat Pin Collector

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #10 on: July 12, 2014, 11:42:46 AM »


    I use dolphin and the images come out as a scrambled mess.
    For dolphin just press f9 and it will automatically put a png screenshot in your /dolphin emulator/screenshots/"game id" folder.
    Logged

    ɴᴇᴢʜᴀ
    Brawl Vault's Paladin
    Brawl Vault Staff
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1197


    Better read the rules, you wont see me if you do.

  • Awards Smash 3 Team Shinobi Power? Star Hacker >9000 Heart Container

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #11 on: July 12, 2014, 04:19:24 PM »


    Thanks for the solutions given to other users with issues.

    The responses given will be used to develop the FAQ in the OP.
    Logged


    ✦Dylan✦
    Holocaust Mastermind
    Extreme Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 448


    Send Taranza/Sectonia art thanks.

  • Awards Tutorial Writer RAGE!!

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #12 on: July 13, 2014, 03:36:42 AM »


    For dolphin just press f9 and it will automatically put a png screenshot in your /dolphin emulator/screenshots/"game id" folder.

    Thanks.
    Logged

    I don't visit often and my hacks are crap. The music loops are alright though I guess.

    DTST
    Lol Kitten
    *********
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 858


    Please don't be femtwo

  • Awards Featured Dedicated Hacker 128-bit Core Gamer 64-bit Core Gamer Heart Container

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #13 on: July 13, 2014, 11:07:33 AM »


    I took the photos and used gecko to copy them to my card but they come out blank when converted.
    Logged

    Click here to find out how to be the best PSA maker in the universe.

    ɴᴇᴢʜᴀ
    Brawl Vault's Paladin
    Brawl Vault Staff
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1197


    Better read the rules, you wont see me if you do.

  • Awards Smash 3 Team Shinobi Power? Star Hacker >9000 Heart Container

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #14 on: July 13, 2014, 11:13:49 AM »


    Odd I use Geko as well, and it works fine, sometimes bin2jpg makes a scrambled messes, therefore you have to try taking the picture again.

    Also, you used geko to copy them to the sd card?

    You can't take a picture and save it directly to the SD while ingame?
    Logged


    Pages:  [1] 2
    Print
    Jump to: