Kitty Corp Meow Mix Forums

Help & Tutorials => Model Tutorials => Topic started by: Albafika on November 23, 2013, 11:07:10 PM



Title: [Brawlbox v0.69b] Combining Brawl models
Post by: Albafika on November 23, 2013, 11:07:10 PM
The model to add must have all the bones of the character it's going over.

For this example, I'll be using these 2:

Models to add (Grip and Blade are 2 separate objects in the same DAE, labelled BraveSword.DAE):
(http://i42.tinypic.com/2aflnyf.png)
Character to which the sword is going to be added to:
(http://i41.tinypic.com/5chhn9.png)

So, what we will be doing for this example is this:

1. Adding a new sword by merging the new sword's mdl0 with the character's mdl0.
2. Removing the old sword.
3. Set up materials.
Step 1: Preparing the model
1> Import the DAE into BrawlBox. In this case, I'll be importing BraveSword.DAE, which is the sword's grip and blade objects I exported as DAE from 3DSMax:
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33498917/KCMM/Importing/Step1.png)

2> On the Import Settings window, make sure you have these settings:
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33498917/KCMM/Importing/Step2.png)

The Sword will replace the model, with it ending up being like this:
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33498917/KCMM/Importing/Step1Result.png)

3> Right click the Mdl0 (In this case, it's named FitMia) and click "Export". You have to export it as a mdl0:
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33498917/KCMM/Importing/Export.png)

Now you have converted the DAE into a ready-to-import mdl0.
Step 2: Merging the models
1> Open the model you want to merge this mdl0 with. Right Click it and select "Import New Object":
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33498917/KCMM/Importing/Step3.png)

2> On the window that pops up, use these settings:

(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33498917/KCMM/Importing/MergingSettings.png)

3> Now, we need to go into the MDL0>Objects, and delete the old sword's polygons (You can easily spot them just by viewing which polygon is what in the previewer to the right)

4> We'll also need to delete the old sword's texture(s) and add the new sword's texture(s). For this, just go under TextureData[0] and import the new texture files, and delete the old texture files. This is not BrawlBox 101, you should know this before attempting to merge models.

Now, we are set! Now we need to set the materials.
Step 3: Setting up the materials
There are several ways to do this. In this case, I just went to the new Objects and, on the settings to the right, went to OpaMaterial, and set it to the old sword's materials. It saves up work as metal materials won't [censored] up this way. To do this:

1> Go into the MDL0>Objects, and select the new object (Must be at the bottom).

2> To the panel on the right, find OpaMaterial:
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33498917/KCMM/Importing/Step11.png)

3> Set the material to the old sword's material (In my case, Alondite_Blade)

(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33498917/KCMM/Importing/Step12.png)

As you can see, the texture is wrong. That is because that material is using the old sword's texture. Now we need to go to this material, expand it, and we'll have this:
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33498917/KCMM/Importing/Step13.png)
I need to rename Alondite_Blade to Brave_Sword (The old sword's texture was named Alondite_Blade. The new sword's is Brave_Sword, so what I'm doing is: making the material call the new texture):
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33498917/KCMM/Importing/Step14.png)

Now my sword's blade will be using the correct texture:

(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33498917/KCMM/Importing/Step15.png)
If this method doesn't works, try this:

BJax, when you import an object from another model, along with it's texture, and it does show up fine in brawlbox but not at all ingame, what could be the cause?
The last model exploded in-game but looked fine in Brawlbox because the imported objects were weighted and rebuilt with texture matrices due to the metal materials, but didn't have their assets set in float. They also didn't have a linked color node when the shader and material called for one.

I linked the one color node to all the objects (go to the object's properties, click on the empty slot for ColorNode0, choose a color node in the dropdown) and converted all the imported assets (vertices, uvs, normals) to float by setting ForceRebuild and ForceFloat to true on the node.

An alternate solution from the one above would be to go into the imported materials' properties, go to LightChannel1, set the ColorSource to Register and set the MaterialColor to a color like 128,128,128,255 or whatever you have set in the color node. Then go to the last texture reference in each metal material and make sure HasTextureMatrix is set to false. Then you can either go back to each one and turn them back to true (this forces the assets to be rewritten in float automatically) or delete the metal materials, if you don't want the metal box to work.


Bottom line: I'm willing to update the tutorial on parts you guys feel I need to further clarify.


Title: Re: [Brawlbox v0.69b] Combining Brawl models
Post by: Akeno/Archer on November 24, 2013, 10:19:56 AM
I... Love.. This! When I'll be able to fully use my PC, I'll definitely try this! Thanks!
should be sticked somewhere


Title: Re: [Brawlbox v0.69b] Combining Brawl models
Post by: Albafika on November 24, 2013, 12:56:14 PM
I... Love.. This! When I'll be able to fully use my PC, I'll definitely try this! Thanks!
should be sticked somewhere
Hopefully it's of use to you whenever you get to merge MDL0s. :)


Title: Re: [Brawlbox v0.69b] Combining Brawl models
Post by: ZX_BraveSol_ZX on November 25, 2013, 04:36:24 PM
this tutorial just gave me my next idea for a good sonic mod (THAT ISNT ANOTHER FREAKING SHADOW)thanks


Title: Re: [Brawlbox v0.69b] Combining Brawl models
Post by: Akeno/Archer on November 26, 2013, 12:37:15 PM
(THAT ISNT ANOTHER FREAKING SHADOW)
Why :oshi: AI W4nt enothah SHhad0W!
xD


Title: Re: [Brawlbox v0.69b] Combining Brawl models
Post by: ZX_BraveSol_ZX on August 05, 2014, 12:12:11 AM
ok I must be doing something wrong here whenever I import a new object, it loses its rig and wont move the bones ._.
(http://i.imgur.com/iEY6M9a.png)

EDIT: NVM for whatever retarded reason brawlbox doesnt move the object until after you hit save, close brawlbox, then reopen it again
 :notimp: SAKURAAIIIIIIIII!BLAAAAAAAAACKJAAAAAAAXX!!!!!!!!!!!


Title: Re: [Brawlbox v0.69b] Combining Brawl models
Post by: TheSoraKid on August 05, 2014, 12:56:40 AM
ok I must be doing something wrong here whenever I import a new object, it loses its rig and wont move the bones ._.
([url]http://i.imgur.com/iEY6M9a.png[/url])

EDIT: NVM for whatever retarded reason brawlbox doesnt move the object until after you hit save, close brawlbox, then reopen it again
 :notimp: SAKURAAIIIIIIIII!BLAAAAAAAAACKJAAAAAAAXX!!!!!!!!!!!

I see that you're using the v0.71 of BrawlBox.

Try upgrading to v0.73 if you can.

Btw, this this necroposting, I think.


Title: Re: [Brawlbox v0.69b] Combining Brawl models
Post by: Albafika on August 09, 2014, 06:34:18 AM
Btw, this this necroposting, I think.
Tutorials can be necroposted, so can Sticky threads. :P


Title: Re: [Brawlbox v0.69b] Combining Brawl models
Post by: Shinobu Nyan! on August 12, 2014, 04:44:36 PM
I found content to put into video form!!! That's fine right? I mean I'm almost finished making the clone engine stuff, only gotta upload it.


Title: Re: [Brawlbox v0.69b] Combining Brawl models
Post by: Albafika on December 05, 2014, 10:37:11 PM
Updated this tutorial. Had a huge error in which I forgot to add the Merging Settings on Step 2 and formatting issues.


Title: Re: [Brawlbox v0.69b] Combining Brawl models
Post by: ✦Dylan✦ on December 16, 2014, 03:15:10 PM
Damn it, you need the bones, can't we import those?


Title: Re: [Brawlbox v0.69b] Combining Brawl models
Post by: HaloFanODST on February 11, 2015, 09:55:38 PM
Sorry if I necropost this, but I can't find the Import Settings window.

Where is it?