Home Gallery Resources The Team Rules chat Login Register
Pages:  1 ... 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19
Author Topic: libertyernie: Looping Audio Converter 2.0.0 rc1  (Read 120160 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
PseudoTypical
Extreme Kitten
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 493


Browsin' internetz

  • Awards Ninja

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #225 on: August 24, 2015, 09:07:17 AM »


    Would it be a lot of work to add display scaling up to 4k? I got a new setup and even if I toy with the settings it's either very small (scaled but not adjusted) or character portraits show up multiplied (not scaled but weird on a big display).
    Logged

    libertyernie
    Lol Kitten
    *********
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 918


    Go for the gold

  • Awards Star Hacker >9000 King for a Day RAGE!!

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #226 on: August 24, 2015, 12:54:01 PM »


    Would it be a lot of work to add display scaling up to 4k? I got a new setup and even if I toy with the settings it's either very small (scaled but not adjusted) or character portraits show up multiplied (not scaled but weird on a big display).
    Do you mean the size of the actual window? And which application (costume manager / stage manager)?
    If Windows isn't doing that for you (I think Windows 8 can do this), the only thing I know how to do is adjust all the font sizes upwards - maybe I can put in a setting for that. WinForms dates back a long time and wasn't designed for high-DPI monitors Tongue
    Logged


    PseudoTypical
    Extreme Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 493


    Browsin' internetz

  • Awards Ninja

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #227 on: August 24, 2015, 01:31:08 PM »


    Do you mean the size of the actual window? And which application (costume manager / stage manager)?
    If Windows isn't doing that for you (I think Windows 8 can do this), the only thing I know how to do is adjust all the font sizes upwards - maybe I can put in a setting for that. WinForms dates back a long time and wasn't designed for high-DPI monitors Tongue
    Yeah, the window becomes extremely compact. Tongue I run on Windows 10 so it adjusts its own programs but not external ones. If you could put in a setting that'd be great. So we're clear, this is what it looks like with display scaling disabled:

    And with it enabled (too big for Imgur to do the whole desktop so here's it with some icons):
    Logged

    JohnTravolski
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 26


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #228 on: August 25, 2015, 04:14:48 PM »


    Sorry that it took me so long to reply, LibertyErnie, but the name options I'm referring to should basically let you choose what you want the "tacked-on" text to say.  For example, when I export the loop segment of the BRSTM, it exports as the name of the original file + (loop).  An example would be Phendrena Drifts (loop).  While this is useful for the most part, there are instances where I might, for example, want the export files to say something like "Phendrena Drifts (mid)" or for the beginning segment "Phendrena Drifts (start)" instead of "Phendrena Drifts (beginning)" to save characters.  Another possible use would be in instances in which spaces in the output file names wouldn't be acceptable, which is common in some instances.  I would have to rename each .BRSTM with a space that I get from BrawlCustomMusic, but at least I wouldn't have to do that two or three times for each one I exported.

    Keep in mind, this is a relatively minor nit-picky thing that's not as important as, say, adding flac output support, which I would greatly appreciate.  Once again, sorry for the late reply, as I highly appreciate all the work you've done for this.

    I should also mention that I tested this with .BCSTM and .BFSTM files, and it exports them perfectly, which is great.  And, yes, they are used by the 3DS and Wii U respectively.
    « Last Edit: August 25, 2015, 04:17:38 PM by JohnTravolski » Logged

    libertyernie
    Lol Kitten
    *********
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 918


    Go for the gold

  • Awards Star Hacker >9000 King for a Day RAGE!!

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #229 on: August 28, 2015, 06:45:39 PM »


    I've updated the Stage Manager, SSS Editor, Costume Manager and Song Manager to version 3.6. The first two have the most changes. See my github releases page for the changelog:
    https://github.com/libertyernie/BrawlManagers/releases

    I think I'll work on adding those features to exportloop (Export Loop VB) next. I have an idea about passing binary data right from the C++ side to the VB side and I want to see if it works.
    Logged


    PseudoTypical
    Extreme Kitten
    *******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 493


    Browsin' internetz

  • Awards Ninja

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #230 on: August 28, 2015, 07:30:38 PM »


    The manager programs work perfectly now. Thanks man. Smiley
    Logged

    JohnTravolski
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 26


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #231 on: September 02, 2015, 03:58:44 PM »


    I'm glad to hear you're working on ExportLoop now.  Hopefully those features don't pose too much of a challenge, because I would certainly find them useful (.flac output support most specifically).

    Also, just curiously, LibertyErnie, do you use Adobe Premiere Pro and/or Adobe Audition?
    « Last Edit: September 02, 2015, 04:02:33 PM by JohnTravolski » Logged

    libertyernie
    Lol Kitten
    *********
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 918


    Go for the gold

  • Awards Star Hacker >9000 King for a Day RAGE!!

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #232 on: September 09, 2015, 06:26:24 PM »


    I'm glad to hear you're working on ExportLoop now.  Hopefully those features don't pose too much of a challenge, because I would certainly find them useful (.flac output support most specifically).

    Also, just curiously, LibertyErnie, do you use Adobe Premiere Pro and/or Adobe Audition?

    I've never used either of those. Is there something that would be helpful to make this work with those?

    I'm actually writing a new program now that will be BRSTM Converter and Export Loop put together. (I wanted something to do to keep me busy.) I'm designing it to avoid using temporary files as much as possible, too.
    Input formats will be anything supported by vgmstream (including BRSTM) or SoX (the windows build on their website), MP3 (madplay), or VGM/VGM using VGMPlay. Output formats will be WAV, FLAC, MP3 (lame), Ogg Vorbis (SoX supports it so why not), and BRSTM (using BrawlLib). Each will have an option for one file or multiple (0-start, start-end, 0-end), and the ability to export separate files if the input has more than 2 channels, plus the existing amplify, convert to mono, and change sample rate options.
    I'm trying to structure the program in a way that makes it simple to combine these features together.

    Here's a screenshot of something I've got working already (BRSTM to BRSTM converting - not very useful, I suppose):


    By the way, this program's "internal format" will be 16-bit PCM .wav with looping information embedded, something I just found out a week ago that vgmstream's test.exe supports! (By the way, I think BRSTM might be 8 bits per sample instead of 16.)
    « Last Edit: September 09, 2015, 06:27:56 PM by libertyernie » Logged


    JohnTravolski
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 26


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #233 on: September 10, 2015, 03:32:32 PM »


    Great to hear, I'm glad that you're going further into this!  As I mentioned, BCSTM and BFSTM are used for the 3DS and Wii U, respectively, and they're not too different than BRSTM.  Unfortunately, I know nothing about programming, but I do know that you can input BCSTM files into a hacked 3DS (such as with Tubehax) and actually get that custom music to play on your 3DS or in your 3DS's game.

    If I may suggest, and assuming it's not too much of an issue, I recommend that you also find some way to make BCSTM and BFSTM output files as well since you're making BRSTM an output option.  Please realize that ExportLoopVB 1.1.1 can already import BCSTM and BFSTM files and export them as .wav files at the correct loop points (I've tested this myself), so it may not be that difficult.  Also, whatever you do in this new program, please be sure that you do not remove any functionality that ExportLoopVB had, as in being able to import BCSTM and BFSTM files, because I use those as well.

    The reason is that I rip game audio from 3DS games and obtain a lot of BCSTMs, and the only way to get usable audio data out of them is through ExportLoopVB, so I want to be sure that, whatever you do, they'll still work with the new program.

    Finally, thank you for doing this!  The reason I was asking about the Adobe software was because I was going to see if you were interested in, possibly, developing a plugin that would allow any imported looping audio format (like BRSTM, BCSTM, BFSTM, etc) to be infinitely extendable within either Audition or Premiere just to remove the step of copying and pasting the looping segment (which is what I have to do after exporting the .wav files from ExportLoopVB).  If not, that's perfectly fine, the program you're working on now sounds amazing regardless.

    tl;dr:
    See if you can make it output BCSTM and BFSTM since you're already making it output BRSTM (assuming it's not too hard).
    Make sure that it can still import BCSTM and BFSTM like ExportLoopVB can.
    I asked about the Adobe software to see if you were willing to develop a plugin so that looping audio format could be flawlessly and infinitely extended within Premiere/Audition.
    Logged

    libertyernie
    Lol Kitten
    *********
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 918


    Go for the gold

  • Awards Star Hacker >9000 King for a Day RAGE!!

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #234 on: September 27, 2015, 10:24:18 AM »


    I posted Looping Audio Converter, which is pretty much Export Loop VB and BRSTM Converter put together. It works in Mono too. Smiley See post 2 for the link.
    Logged


    JohnTravolski
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 26


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #235 on: September 30, 2015, 02:47:51 PM »


    Sorry for the delayed response, but I'm having issues (Windows 8.1 Pro all latest Windows updates installed).  It may because I don't understand how the program works or because it's actually a bug:
    With that BRSTM called "Follow Fi" (http://www.brawlcustommusic.com/36104) (2 streams, 4 channels), I tried to export with these settings and it crashes once I click OK:
    Crashed:



    These settings also crash:

    and


    I read the message in the command prompt, but I don't understand what to do about it (is it a bad BRSTM or is there a way to get your program to deal with that?)
    I tried the same file with the following settings and it did export correctly:
    Succeeded:


    Also, here're my results from a 1-stream 2-channel BRSTM (Beedle's Airshop) (http://www.brawlcustommusic.com/24366):
    Succeeded:

    Crashed:




    By succeeded, I refer strictly to the program creating the output files.  I have yet to check the integrity of those files with Adobe Audition, but they sound fine when I play them back.  I'm not entirely sure how "put each channel in its own file" is supposed to work, so I don't know if I was basically asking for the crash given my settings or if it's actually a bug.  Please reply letting me know more about this.  I will continue to test the program as time passes.

    Post Merge: September 30, 2015, 03:22:21 PM
    Here's more information.  I have succeeded with some BRSTM files (like this one: http://www.brawlcustommusic.com/189) when I export both the whole song and the looping segment (with "Put each pair of channels in its own file" selected), as a .flac or .wav file, I get different results, as can be seen in Adobe Audition:



    Notice the labels; to the left is file output as is considered to be the "entire song" while to the right is what is considered "the looping segment."  For the .wav exported by Export Loop VB and Looping Audio Converter (the bottom two tracks, respectively) you can see that they align at the exact same point, as noted inside the red box I drew.  They both play back and loop flawlessly when put up together.
    However, the .flac file, the first track, as you can see, seems to be missing a sample or two (I don't know exactly how many) from either or both of the exported files (despite a succeeded [defined in the previous post] export).  When I play these two files together, there is some loud clicking noise right at the very end of the "whole song" file and the beginning of the "loop segment" file, as if they're missing samples or something.  They do not loop perfectly when played together because of the clicking noise.  This was not an alignment error that I could have made because when playing both files individually in Windows Media Player, I can hear the clicks right at the mentioned points in the files.  I assume this is some problem with the .flac extension since it works perfectly with the .wav in the same program (Looping Audio Converter) the exact same way it does in Export Loop VB.

    Once again, I highly appreciate your efforts, but this is what I have noticed so far.  I could be messing something up or they could be bugs, but that's for you to determine.  Thank you.

    Edit:
    I managed to get closer in Audition and each "block" or square you see along the curves lines represents a "sample."  These are the same tracks as before.  As you can see, the .flac that was exported on the top track seems to have its samples messed up right at the end and beginning of the "whole song" and "loop segment" files, respectively.
    « Last Edit: September 30, 2015, 03:37:50 PM by JohnTravolski » Logged

    libertyernie
    Lol Kitten
    *********
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 918


    Go for the gold

  • Awards Star Hacker >9000 King for a Day RAGE!!

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #236 on: October 15, 2015, 01:07:48 PM »


    The way FLAC files are generated is actually by generating the WAV file and then having SoX convert it. I'm not sure why those samples would get cut off.

    As for "loop point past the end of the file" problems - do you have a link to a BRSTM that does this so I can look at it?
    Logged


    JohnTravolski
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 26


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #237 on: October 15, 2015, 03:37:35 PM »


    This BRSTM: (http://www.brawlcustommusic.com/24366) with these settings:
    results in that error.
    Logged

    libertyernie
    Lol Kitten
    *********
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 918


    Go for the gold

  • Awards Star Hacker >9000 King for a Day RAGE!!

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #238 on: October 16, 2015, 09:26:20 AM »


    Thanks! I'll look into it.
    I was able to fix the FLAC issue by using temporary wav files for decoder output and encoder input, instead of reading/writing the data to/from stdin/stdout. So that will be in the next version.

    EDIT: I uploaded version 1.1, which has fixes for both those bugs.
    « Last Edit: October 16, 2015, 12:08:20 PM by libertyernie » Logged


    JohnTravolski
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 26


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #239 on: October 20, 2015, 02:50:03 PM »


    Just to let you know, I've tested several things so far, and it looks great!  As before, I genuinely appreciate all the time and effort that you have put into this program because it has already become an irreplaceable resource for me.  I only have two questions so far (I will let you know if I ever have any other problems):

    Why does the command prompt show up in the background whenever this program is open but it didn't show up whenever ExportLoopVB was open?

    Why does Looping Audio Converter close automatically as soon as the export is finished?  I don't think that ExportLoopVB did this either.  After all, sometimes I need to export multiple sets of files with different settings.

    Also, I noticed that you submitted some Chibi Robo (Plug Into Adventure) music on Brawl Custom Music.  I'm just wondering; how did you obtain that music?  I don't know how music worked back on the Game Cube.
    Logged

    Pages:  1 ... 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19
    Print
    Jump to: