Home Gallery Resources The Team Rules chat Login Register
Pages:  1 [2] 3
Author Topic: Rim lighting (video-tutorial)  (Read 6894 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
SharpHackz200
Hyper Kitten
******
Offline Offline

Posts: 252


Mario, You're My Knight In Thy Shining Armor

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #15 on: January 21, 2014, 05:36:28 PM »


    The name can be anything you want.

    Have you put the HasTextureMatrix value on true in all possible cases?

    Yes I did and it still says false whenever I save it and open it again
    Logged


    Mewtwo2000
    The Stage Master
    Special Access
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 3331


    Making stages since 2010

  • Awards Former PMDT King for a Day Ceiling Cat Featured

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #16 on: January 22, 2014, 01:36:56 AM »


    Singlebind objects will always have false in there, that's fine. Just put on true the ones that can be on true and they will be the way they're supposed to be.
    Logged

    SW FC: SW-5958-4724-5095
    Wii FC: 1247-2259-6207
    Twitch: http://twitch.tv/mewtwo2000
    Visit my stage thread here


    Stage light and fog tutorial
    Stage shadows tutorial

    Kyouma
    Heroic Kitten
    **
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 2821


  • Awards Star Hacker Renowned Hacker Super Saiyan Topic Heart Container

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #17 on: January 22, 2014, 10:50:12 AM »


    Oh, did I forget to say thanks for this? I use rim on all of my new imports now since kinda long ago lol
    Logged

    SharpHackz200
    Hyper Kitten
    ******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 252


    Mario, You're My Knight In Thy Shining Armor

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #18 on: January 25, 2014, 04:10:48 AM »


    Singlebind objects will always have false in there, that's fine. Just put on true the ones that can be on true and they will be the way they're supposed to be.

    Ok I did what you said, and it still does that.  I have one question though.  When you add a rim lighting to a character do you have to put it on all materials (except for the metal ones) or it can be certain material  I think MAYBE this is why it kept on doing that
    « Last Edit: January 25, 2014, 04:32:05 AM by SharpHackz200 » Logged


    Mewtwo2000
    The Stage Master
    Special Access
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 3331


    Making stages since 2010

  • Awards Former PMDT King for a Day Ceiling Cat Featured

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #19 on: January 25, 2014, 07:02:36 AM »


    You need it on every material. If you do it only for one material, only that part of the character will use rim lighting, and if the shader is modified and the material isn't, you'll get graphical glitches.
    Logged

    SW FC: SW-5958-4724-5095
    Wii FC: 1247-2259-6207
    Twitch: http://twitch.tv/mewtwo2000
    Visit my stage thread here


    Stage light and fog tutorial
    Stage shadows tutorial

    Kyouma
    Heroic Kitten
    **
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 2821


  • Awards Star Hacker Renowned Hacker Super Saiyan Topic Heart Container

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #20 on: January 25, 2014, 12:03:28 PM »


    Well, I don't really think is that bad. On my imports, I put rim on the clothing texture materials only and I leave the body texture materials as default and I have no problems.
    Logged

    Mewtwo2000
    The Stage Master
    Special Access
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 3331


    Making stages since 2010

  • Awards Former PMDT King for a Day Ceiling Cat Featured

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #21 on: January 25, 2014, 01:23:06 PM »


    Well, I don't really think is that bad. On my imports, I put rim on the clothing texture materials only and I leave the body texture materials as default and I have no problems.

    If the shaders used by the materials aren't the same, there will be no glitches. But if the shader used by rim and not rim materials are the same, there will be something wrong cause it will try to load a texture that's not there for the no-rim ones.

    There's the possibility that it looks right, but it's not the correct way to do it. Adding a shader exclusive for the non-rim materials takes no time anyway.
    Logged

    SW FC: SW-5958-4724-5095
    Wii FC: 1247-2259-6207
    Twitch: http://twitch.tv/mewtwo2000
    Visit my stage thread here


    Stage light and fog tutorial
    Stage shadows tutorial

    Kyouma
    Heroic Kitten
    **
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 2821


  • Awards Star Hacker Renowned Hacker Super Saiyan Topic Heart Container

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #22 on: January 25, 2014, 01:27:07 PM »


    That's what I do lol, who would use a different material for the same shader?! Sometimes that even causes crashes.
    Logged

    SharpHackz200
    Hyper Kitten
    ******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 252


    Mario, You're My Knight In Thy Shining Armor

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #23 on: January 25, 2014, 09:59:52 PM »


    You need it on every material. If you do it only for one material, only that part of the character will use rim lighting, and if the shader is modified and the material isn't, you'll get graphical glitches.

    Is that why mine kept on doing that???  Do you also need to add the rim lighting to the eye polygons, too??
    Logged


    Mewtwo2000
    The Stage Master
    Special Access
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 3331


    Making stages since 2010

  • Awards Former PMDT King for a Day Ceiling Cat Featured

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #24 on: January 26, 2014, 12:27:00 PM »


    You don't need it. You only need to not use the wrong shaders with the wrong materials. If you don't use rim lighting on the eyes, just be sure the eyes aren't using the shader you've edited for rim lighting, but an unedited one.
    Logged

    SW FC: SW-5958-4724-5095
    Wii FC: 1247-2259-6207
    Twitch: http://twitch.tv/mewtwo2000
    Visit my stage thread here


    Stage light and fog tutorial
    Stage shadows tutorial

    SharpHackz200
    Hyper Kitten
    ******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 252


    Mario, You're My Knight In Thy Shining Armor

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #25 on: January 26, 2014, 08:30:51 PM »


    You don't need it. You only need to not use the wrong shaders with the wrong materials. If you don't use rim lighting on the eyes, just be sure the eyes aren't using the shader you've edited for rim lighting, but an unedited one.


    Ok I edited the eye polygon, i put on all true for texture matrixes, and it did this.

    It looks like the textures were messed up.

    Post Merge: January 27, 2014, 12:17:22 AM
    Just ignore my last post.  I finally figured it out. Thanks for helping Mewtwo2000.  As for the intensity of the rim lighting.  I just have to edit the texture into something more darker, right?? Grin
    « Last Edit: January 27, 2014, 12:17:23 AM by SharpHackz200 » Logged


    Mewtwo2000
    The Stage Master
    Special Access
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 3331


    Making stages since 2010

  • Awards Former PMDT King for a Day Ceiling Cat Featured

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #26 on: January 27, 2014, 02:16:46 AM »


    Yeah, just change its brightness. A fully black 'edge' texture is supposed to show the model just the way it was when it had no rim. If when using a black texture the model still looked too bright, it would mean that you forgot to edit some value in the shaders.
    Logged

    SW FC: SW-5958-4724-5095
    Wii FC: 1247-2259-6207
    Twitch: http://twitch.tv/mewtwo2000
    Visit my stage thread here


    Stage light and fog tutorial
    Stage shadows tutorial

    SharpHackz200
    Hyper Kitten
    ******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 252


    Mario, You're My Knight In Thy Shining Armor

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #27 on: January 28, 2014, 05:43:40 PM »


    Yeah, just change its brightness. A fully black 'edge' texture is supposed to show the model just the way it was when it had no rim. If when using a black texture the model still looked too bright, it would mean that you forgot to edit some value in the shaders.

    But one thing though.  I tested in every stage, but the only stage that have a problem with Peach was Delfino Plaza (No I don't have a hack over it.  It's just the normal one)  Peach will turn very bright and will lose it's iris (with no iris, there's just the WhiteEye texture of Peach)
    When I get knocked off the screen or just die, Peach will show up the way it should be. and for about 30 seconds it will turn very bright again and it will lose the iris texture
    Logged


    Mewtwo2000
    The Stage Master
    Special Access
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 3331


    Making stages since 2010

  • Awards Former PMDT King for a Day Ceiling Cat Featured

  • View Profile WWW Awards
    « Reply #28 on: January 28, 2014, 06:04:05 PM »


    There's an additional step not in the video that fixes that weird problem present in some cases in Delfino. For some reason I never get that issue on Delfino myself, but I get it when facing Rayquaza on the Boss Battles mode.

    For every edited shader, add a new 'stage' and place it as the second stage.

    Copy these settings for that new stage in every edited shader and you'll fix that issue:

    Logged

    SW FC: SW-5958-4724-5095
    Wii FC: 1247-2259-6207
    Twitch: http://twitch.tv/mewtwo2000
    Visit my stage thread here


    Stage light and fog tutorial
    Stage shadows tutorial

    SharpHackz200
    Hyper Kitten
    ******
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 252


    Mario, You're My Knight In Thy Shining Armor

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #29 on: January 31, 2014, 08:51:47 AM »


    There's an additional step not in the video that fixes that weird problem present in some cases in Delfino. For some reason I never get that issue on Delfino myself, but I get it when facing Rayquaza on the Boss Battles mode.

    For every edited shader, add a new 'stage' and place it as the second stage.


    Copy these settings for that new stage in every edited shader and you'll fix that issue:





    Oh Yay it works Happy Face  Many Many Many Many Thanks Mewtwo Cheesy

    Post Merge: January 31, 2014, 09:09:52 PM
    I HAVE ANOTHER PROBLEM!!!

    What did I do wrong.  Did I miss something on the tutorial???
    « Last Edit: January 31, 2014, 09:09:53 PM by SharpHackz200 » Logged


    Pages:  1 [2] 3
    Print
    Jump to: