Home Gallery Resources The Team Rules chat Login Register
Pages:  [1] 2
Author Topic: Run Brawlbox on Mac OS X  (Read 16382 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
ANLGC
Advanced Kitten
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 28


http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTN9QTcY5W

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « on: December 23, 2013, 06:06:04 PM »


    Welcome Mac Users!

    Have you ever tried, wanted, or wished brawlbox running on Mac?

    Well you wish has came true!  Happy Face

    Introducing Brawlbox running on Mac OS X!

    This is based on BlackJax96's Brawlbox FINISHED versions on Windows that you can get working on your Mac. But it only works with Microsoft .NET 4.0 only. I tried to work older versions of Brawlbox's such as v.63d and no luck. The process tends to fail.

    In order to get Brawlbox working on the Mac FULLY FUCNTIONAL, you MUST do this process in order to gain the programs' functions work properly. It can run without this process but not all functions will work properly if you have them separately. The one I'm going to show you is turning into an actual app with all extensions in it.

    Here are the list of requirements in order to create and run BB on you Mac:

    Snow Leopard and UP
    Wine and WineBottler (Please Get the stable version and comes with both) http://winebottler.kronenberg.org/
    And have space at least 580mbs for the app.

    Here is Brawlbox v.71 PKG (Use this to finish off the tutorial)
    Download

    Please do not expect me to update the download.

    Mac OS X (Snow Leopard and UP)
    Step 1:
    If you haven't download Wine and WineBottler, please select the Stable version from this site: http://winebottler.kronenberg.org/
    Both come in the package

    Step 2:
    When you have Wine and WineBottler in you Apps Folder, Run WineBottler.

    Step 3:
    When WineBottler is open, at the top of the window, hit “Advanced”.

    Step 4:
    Here is what you need to do:

    Prefix Template: “new prefix (default)”

    Program to installl: Hit Select File and find you program that you made in Windows.
    Underneath the Select File
    Select: This is the actual program, copy it to the App Bundle

    Leave nothing in the “installler Arguments”

    In Wine Tricks, Search: dotnet40
    Once you have found it, check mark: dotnet40   MS .NET 4.0
     
    When you finish doing all this stuff, Hit Install.

    Save it to your apps or the folder that contains the program.

    This process may take awhile depending on what Mac OS X and Specs.

    Step 5:
    When Microsoft .NET 4.0 installation window displays, check mark ONLY “I have read and accept license terms.”

    Step 6:
    Wait for the installation and leave WineBottler open.

    Step 7:
    Once it finishes, Open the app that you just created. When an error appears (rundll32.exe), Press ok. And wait a couple of mins. depending on OS and Specs.

    WOW

    CONGRADULATIONS!!!

    You have successfully created an app of BrawlBox in your Mac!
    You don't need WineBottler when you are running the program.


    There is 3 things you have to know.

    First time opening, it will take a bit depending on what Mac OS X and Specs you have.

    When you select “Open” for the first time, it will take awhile to display a window. Only for the first time doing it.

    Last but not least, when you select a model ( the preview side before preview in full window) it will display it forever even you look at textures, it won't display it. Unless you close the program.

    Give credit for the Retired Programmer, BlackJax96, for all of his hard work! And myself for making this tutorial of making BrawlBox working on Mac!

    Sorry for no pictures. If anyone wants to make a video and give the link to me? I will post it here along with credit for video  Grin
    « Last Edit: December 28, 2013, 07:34:42 PM by ANLGC » Logged

    "Courage is the magic that makes brawl hacks a reality!"
    CyanPrime (Youtube User)


    Signature by ANLGC

    Murio
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 43


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #1 on: December 24, 2013, 01:32:06 AM »


    Great tutorial man! I followed it the letter and when i got to the very end (brawl box.app) on my macdesktop and tried to open it....a pop up window came up saying it wouldn't find runtime32.dll or something along those lines, then quit. When i try to open it now a loading bar comes up for a split second and then nothing.

    is this because i set it up using a 64bit windows 8.1? I still followed the windows portion of the tutorial exactly.

    Any input would be greatly appreciated.

    Here's a screen cap of the error:

    http://i.imgur.com/uG2KsOa.png
    « Last Edit: December 24, 2013, 01:49:10 AM by Murio » Logged

    ANLGC
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 28


    http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTN9QTcY5W

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #2 on: December 24, 2013, 06:34:13 AM »


    Ahh I see! I forgot to put this in the tutorial. You must press ok unless it quits on its own. I got that very same message.
    Remember, it may take sometime for the first time opening the program.

    And the way of looks of it, you app doesn't seems to have an icon either too.

    You can either did something wrong or the operating system on your mac May read it differently.
    It may be because of 64bit but I'll check. On it my self by the end of today.

    EDIT: did you check if execute rather that part of an app bundle in winebottler? That may be the problem.
    « Last Edit: December 24, 2013, 06:50:12 AM by ANLGC » Logged

    "Courage is the magic that makes brawl hacks a reality!"
    CyanPrime (Youtube User)


    Signature by ANLGC

    Murio
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 43


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #3 on: December 24, 2013, 09:22:07 AM »


    Yes i did check that it executes as part of an app bundle in wine bottler. I'm also using OSX mavericks, if that has any bearing. Its still pretty new.

    Please look into it whenever you have some free time, thanks!
    Logged

    ANLGC
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 28


    http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTN9QTcY5W

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #4 on: December 24, 2013, 03:26:53 PM »


    I tried it on windows 8 X64 and I think Windows 8 converts them differently or its the 64 bit.
    I used windows XP on a 32 bit. That maybe the case. I may need more people to try windows 8 if people having issues combining all the package files.
    Logged

    "Courage is the magic that makes brawl hacks a reality!"
    CyanPrime (Youtube User)


    Signature by ANLGC

    Murio
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 43


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #5 on: December 24, 2013, 03:32:05 PM »


    I tried it on windows 8 X64 and I think Windows 8 converts them differently or its the 64 bit.
    I used windows XP on a 32 bit. That maybe the case. I may need more people to try windows 8 if people having issues combining all the package files.

    Well if thats the case would you mind uploading your fully compiled and working brawlbox.app until we figure out exactly whats wrong?

    « Last Edit: December 24, 2013, 03:33:31 PM by Murio » Logged

    ANLGC
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 28


    http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTN9QTcY5W

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #6 on: December 24, 2013, 03:39:27 PM »


    I maybe considering it but I might just upload the exe only. All you have to do is the Mac tutorial to finish it of.
    Logged

    "Courage is the magic that makes brawl hacks a reality!"
    CyanPrime (Youtube User)


    Signature by ANLGC

    Murio
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 43


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #7 on: December 24, 2013, 03:59:17 PM »


    I maybe considering it but I might just upload the exe only. All you have to do is the Mac tutorial to finish it of.

    The only windows environment i have access to is windows 8.1, I would really appreciate you uploading the .exe.
    Logged

    ANLGC
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 28


    http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTN9QTcY5W

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #8 on: December 24, 2013, 10:41:44 PM »


    Download now avaliable!
    Logged

    "Courage is the magic that makes brawl hacks a reality!"
    CyanPrime (Youtube User)


    Signature by ANLGC

    Murio
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 43


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #9 on: December 24, 2013, 11:33:09 PM »


    Download now avaliable!

    Came here to tell you I ran xp in virtual box and got the windows portion working that way. Thanks!
    Logged

    ANLGC
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 28


    http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTN9QTcY5W

  • Awards Tutorial Writer

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #10 on: December 25, 2013, 12:24:41 AM »


    No problem! Well then I guess you don't need the download. But I put it up there anyways.
    Logged

    "Courage is the magic that makes brawl hacks a reality!"
    CyanPrime (Youtube User)


    Signature by ANLGC

    Murio
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 43


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #11 on: December 25, 2013, 11:45:21 PM »


    Can this exact process be used with the other windows only programs as well?
    Logged

    Carbonics
    Newbie Kitten
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 2


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #12 on: December 26, 2013, 01:02:41 AM »


    When I try to replace a character's selection picture it says the file does not exist is there a fix for this?
    Logged

    Ryouji Gunblade
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 38


    Defender of Earth

  • Awards Ceiling Cat

  • View Profile Awards
    « Reply #13 on: December 26, 2013, 04:24:19 AM »


    It worked for me. Thank you very much!
    Logged


    Your buns are mine!

    Murio
    Advanced Kitten
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 43


    View Profile Awards
    « Reply #14 on: December 26, 2013, 08:33:45 AM »


    When I try to replace a character's selection picture it says the file does not exist is there a fix for this?

    try putting the picture you're using to replace on the desktop first and then import it into brawl box, sometimes brawl box gets wonky with the directories because its emulating a windows enviroment.
    Logged

    Pages:  [1] 2
    Print
    Jump to: