Home Gallery Resources The Team Rules chat Login Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: A Bold Project  (Read 914 times)
orangesrhyme
Newbie Kitten

View Profile Awards
« on: November 14, 2012, 11:11:17 PM »

Okay, you're all going to probably call me foolish (or a variant of it) but my aim is to make one or two characters somewhat from scratch.

"It's been done before," you say, "why would you insult yourself in such a manner?"

Well, because (as you may have inferred from my post count) I'm a noob to pretty much every flavor of Brawl hacking. I have a decent grasp on most of the concepts, from 3D modeling to texture modding (in other games) hex editing to ISO patching to computer programming to... Well, you get the point. What I'm saying is, though I know I have the skill to do it, I need some help with the more Brawl-specific concepts that I've been unable to find an answer to in the forums.

1. If my intention was to have a character with various different weapons, such as a sword for the FSmash or a golf club (that is [with the exception of the FSmash/USmash/etc] always in hand) for a basic jab move, would that be impossible? I know characters like Lucas and Ness and Peach have weapons that only appear when they're doing a smash attack, and Peach even goes as far as having three different weapons for the price of one move, but what I want to know (aside from whether it's an accomplishable feat or not) is A. Where the "extra weapons" would be contained (only model data? only move data? both?) and B. if it would be possible to have the "default weapon" stored in (hammerspace/a sheath/ magical pocket) when special/smash moves are used, i.e. the aforementioned golf club disappearing only when the character does a smash attack and uses a sword instead, or uses a special and shoots a laser gun, and so on.